Upgrading one Uconnect Radio for another Question THREAD - Jeep Renegade Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-28-2015, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
AlterTheEnding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Question Upgrading one Uconnect Radio for another Question THREAD

Hi All,

This is my first new vehicle ever, my first Jeep, and my first 4x4. I love my Renegade Latitude 4x4 but the Uconnect 5.0 system really kind of sucks. Has anyone upgraded to the 6.5 one after buying the Jeep with the 5.0? How much did it cost? Also, I am looking into Android Auto decks. Has anyone put one of those in? If so, can you still access the Jeeps vehicle settings through the Android Auto deck?

I need all the info I can get about this, please.

Thanks!

LittleRedJeep and sgworldwide like this.
AlterTheEnding is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 (permalink) Old 08-30-2015, 07:42 AM
Super Moderator
 
raz-0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: US - NJ
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
People have asked dealers if you can swap in the 6.5. They were told no. Given the integrated cell network that isn't in 5.0 cars, and the level of integration into the car, I doubt you could get the software all correct from their diagnostic system.

As for aftermarket integration, not likely. The only ones I know with the modern vehicle config stuff that you can swap have the fancy stuff on a separate display. Even those it is tricky.
raz-0 is offline  
post #3 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-12-2015, 02:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Just asked the Dealership today if I can swap my substandard radio (the basic model) for the 5.0 and was told no due to it will not communicate correctly. Whatever that means. Is this true?
Rece is offline  
post #4 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-12-2015, 04:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
raz-0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: US - NJ
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 854 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rece View Post
Just asked the Dealership today if I can swap my substandard radio (the basic model) for the 5.0 and was told no due to it will not communicate correctly. Whatever that means. Is this true?
Probably. The head unit is programmed to talk to the bcm and dash unit. They all need to be configured to be on the same page about the configuration of the other bits. Likely you are talking a whole lot of labor to get it all configured. For something like the 6.5 you need radios and antennas and wiring that isn't there.

Technically could it be done? Yeah they build them so they can be rebuilt to be the same. But if they told you it was going to take $8000 and two months of waiting for the next part they found out they missed, the answer would likely be no. So they say no.
raz-0 is offline  
post #5 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-12-2015, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
First Name: Bryan
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Eastern PA, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 407 Post(s)
Garage
You aren't missing all that much with the 5.0. I like the 5.0 in my car (with 9 speaker upgrade). My other car has the 8.4 system and I don't use all the features that it has that the 5.0 doesn't (except the performance pages).

Save the headaches and if you really want a Renegade with the 6.4, trade yours in after a couple years. The audio systems (and the car) might be even better by then.

Vehicles:
2015 Renegade Trailhawk - Silver (Glacier Metallic)
2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scat Pack
2014 H-D Road King
2009 Dodge Challenger R/T (traded)
bwbike is offline  
post #6 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-13-2015, 02:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlterTheEnding View Post
Hi All,

This is my first new vehicle ever, my first Jeep, and my first 4x4. I love my Renegade Latitude 4x4 but the Uconnect 5.0 system really kind of sucks. Has anyone upgraded to the 6.5 one after buying the Jeep with the 5.0? How much did it cost? Also, I am looking into Android Auto decks. Has anyone put one of those in? If so, can you still access the Jeeps vehicle settings through the Android Auto deck?

I need all the info I can get about this, please.

Thanks!

Your not missing noting other then the navigation all the other stuff like apps and u connect access is more trivial then anything and cost extra money with a subscription over $150 a year and that's not including Sirius another subscription fee there's no reason to really play with a radio display unless u got a passenger whos bored lol
sgworldwide is offline  
post #7 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-13-2015, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rece View Post
Just asked the Dealership today if I can swap my substandard radio (the basic model) for the 5.0 and was told no due to it will not communicate correctly. Whatever that means. Is this true?
most likely yes the 3.0 radio is just am/fm theres no Sirius which means no antenna for the sat signal a new 5.0 HU will do nothing and then theres the back up camera not only that what people don't understand again another lesson on me working on caddys is a radio head unit is not just a radio anymore but usually the command center for the car when u start playing with things u don't understand or let techs do it like adding aftermarket add ons who also don't understand u run the risk of having major issues and even voiding your warranty u also most likely will lose stock controls when I had my caddys the radio was part of the theftlock and passkey system if u took it out the car and tried to start it the car knows its not there so the car actually engaged the engine immobilizer and it lost comms with the ecu meaning good luck driving the car with out it since the vin was also programed in the radio making it useless to use in another car we on the forums had a guy who was a electrical engineer former GM employee make us a custom harness to trick the computer into thinking the OEM HU was there still lost stock controls though ether way anything can be done with money but make sure you find some one who knows the wiring diagram and has knowledge of electrical circuits because it might require a work around enjoy!!!

Last edited by sgworldwide; 09-13-2015 at 02:27 AM.
sgworldwide is offline  
post #8 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-14-2015, 08:25 PM
Junior Member
 
repete7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
I also have a 5.0N. Right now, I'm considering just getting an iPad mini, buying a dash mount and using that. I don't know much about Android tablets, but would that work for you?

One of my sons spoke to the "lead audio" guy at a dealership and he said that there are a few different wiring diagrams for the jeep renegade. According to him, it's not possible to do a simple swap of the 5.0N for the 6.5. As far as replacing the head unit with a third party, the 3.0 doesn't have the car functions built in, but the others do. He wasn't sure if any third party head units would work with 5.0N and 6.5.

My son did find a video of someone who had replaced his head unit, but he's Italian:
, so I guess it's possible.

You may be interested in these discussions if you haven't already found them:

Can navigation be added to the lower end uconnect?

Renegade Audio Guide & Head Unit Removal
repete7 is offline  
post #9 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-14-2015, 08:40 PM
Junior Member
 
repete7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
And here's another video where he replaces 5.0: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysBQ...youtu.be&t=39s

Last edited by repete7; 09-14-2015 at 08:43 PM.
repete7 is offline  
post #10 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-15-2015, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Installing an aftermarket unit isn't a big deal. All that's required is wiring. Matra or one of the companies just recently released a wiring harness adapter. Unlikely you'd be able to retain ability to adjust vehicle settings. So if you're going to go that route... make sure you are really happy with your settings before swapping out the head units. And, if you disconnect the battery after you've set your settings, my guess is everything will be reset to default.
repete7 likes this.
fmunk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Renegade Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UConnect 5.0 reverts to AM Radio on Startup kaba Electronics, Audio, and Lights 64 03-17-2016 11:03 PM
Radio Question bakaneko718 Electronics, Audio, and Lights 22 02-22-2016 10:00 PM
UConnect and 6.5 Radio NoNav United Kingdom 4 11-04-2015 06:21 AM
UConnect5.0 radio question renegade22 Electronics, Audio, and Lights 3 10-21-2015 08:25 PM
6.5an/RA4 Uconnect Radio Poll VARenegadeUSA Jeep Renegade General Discussion 7 06-24-2015 08:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off