Jeep Renegade Forum banner

Renegade Latitude off-road capabilities

49K views 77 replies 30 participants last post by  Staylor42 
#1 ·
I am in the process of buying Renegade Latitude and I wanted to know what the off-roading capabilities on the car are. I know they won't be as good as the TH, but I want to know to what extremes can I take the Latitude. My dealer didn't have any TH and I needed to replace my current car. I'm not looking to do extreme off-roading, but I wanted to know if I could take it on trails and be fine.
This is my first Jeep so I'm new to all this. Thanks everyone!

#3 ·
If you're looking at rouigh roads and the odd trail, you should be fine. Lots of videos out there of Renegades tackling stuff most of us wouldn't even try.

Others can correct me here, but the biggest advantage the TH has offroad is a front bumper with a better approach angle (at the expense of an air dam), lower differential gearing, and a "rock" setting on the 4WD system (that takes advantage of the lower differential gearing to allow a very low "crawl" gear, using 1st gear on the automatic transmission which is normally not used during regular driving). It also has a "hill descent" mode which controls the speed down a steep hill. These are features which are important to serious off-roaders, but from what you describe I doubt you'll miss them.

#7 ·
The Latitude, Limited, and Sport are basically restricted to dirt roads with a rock here and there. Reasons for this are no low range (not even the Trailhawk has low range), no recovery points, most importantly, no spare tire. You put a hole in the sidewall you are SOL. You also have to consider a Suburban is more capable offroad than a Trailhawk.

#10 ·