2015 TH Battery Replacement - Jeep Renegade Forum

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Garage
2015 TH Battery Replacement

I couldn't find any write-ups on DIY battery replacement, so I thought I'd share my experience.
I'm no auto mechanic but I try to do what I can. I've done my brakes and oil changes - that sort of thing. I've replaced batteries in plenty of other vehicles, so I thought I'd take it on here.

I own a 2015 Trailhawk (bought new) and I've heard of some people having problems when their battery dies, so I wanted to replace mine before that point. In my experience 5 years is a pretty good bet on how long a car battery will last if it is not abused (often deeply discharged - which mine was not).

I know FCA has made some changes to the battery terminals - so my experience is what I came across on my 2015 North American model.

I hooked up a battery tender to the cable terminals in the hope of maintaining power to the computers and radio. I don't usually bother with this, but I tried it here (more on this later).

The negative battery lead is removed first. I have a cam-lock style clamp on the negative lead. Those of you familiar with bicycle wheel skewers will recognize the mechanism. Just a quick flip of the lever and the negative lead can be wiggled off the battery post. I tucked it out of the way by the coolant reservoir.

Next, I removed the hold-down strap clamp (more on why I did this now in a minute). The nut that secures it is located near the bottom of the battery on the inboard side. It is 13mm and you'll need about a 12" extension to get to it easily. Once the nut was off and out of the vehicle (easily dropped), I wiggled the strap out past the positive battery leads and tucked it out of the way by the washer fluid reservoir.