Jeep Renegade Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, when the tranny shifts into 5th gear I get this strange feeling in the pedals, it's not quite a vibration but it's definitely different feeling and sounding.

I never noticed this before but it seems to happen in 5th because whenever I hear it, I shift into M to see what gear it is.

FWIW I'm a gentle driver and stay in auto mode.

The sound can be best described has sharp and metallic. This don't affect performance nor MPGs. Just wondering if anyone got this.

·
Registered
72 Posts
OK, when the tranny shifts into 5th gear I get this strange feeling in the pedals, it's not quite a vibration but it's definitely different feeling and sounding.

I never noticed this before but it seems to happen in 5th because whenever I hear it, I shift into M to see what gear it is.

FWIW I'm a gentle driver and stay in auto mode.

The sound can be best described has sharp and metallic. This don't affect performance nor MPGs. Just wondering if anyone got this.
It's normal, most of the gears in the ZF 9-speed are traditional clutch packs that allow some slippage, whereas the shift from 4-5 and from 7-8 uses dog clutches that have to completely disengage the engine like a manual transmission to mesh.

This video explains it beautifully:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7EMGnjEhmE

·
Registered
57 Posts
I'm so glad I watch random videos at 11pm... Learned something new today! I'll have to keep an eye on my shifting, hadn't noticed/thought about it much!

·
Registered
430 Posts
I am getting a very audible thunk when shifting into 5th. This happens under light throttle application.

·
Registered
46 Posts