Jeep Renegade Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Throughout the forum I have read comments pertaining to the KN type filters. Is the filter that I need for a 2015 Renegade, 2.0 diesel 4x4 (140hp but it may be the 170)

Kn filter

·
Registered
1,619 Posts
It looks right, but I can't confirm. I don't like aftermarket filters, especially ones that need oiling. You won't gain any usable power over the OEM filter save for maybe a minute amount above 4,000 rpm.

·
Premium Member
2,617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As I am not a mechanic can you explain the term "oiling". I imagine that means lightly coating the filter with a thin oil before use. Just like oiling a frying pan o_O

What is the OEM filter? (I know what OEM means) but I presume you mean the bog standard Jeep filter from the dealership as opposed to somewhere like Dingbro, Autoparts or any other parts dealership? :unsure:

My Jeep is chipped so the amount of extra power will certainly be limited but I want my engine to breathe properly.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Hi all,

Throughout the forum I have read comments pertaining to the KN type filters. Is the filter that I need for a 2015 Renegade, 2.0 diesel 4x4 (140hp but it may be the 170)

Kn filter
That ebay auction lists the manufacturer part number as JPJR335034, the K&N website lists the part number as 33-5034, since the 335034 appears in both number I would bet that the ebay filter is the correct filter.

·
Registered
1,574 Posts
As I am not a mechanic can you explain the term "oiling". I imagine that means lightly coating the filter with a thin oil before use. Just like oiling a frying pan o_O
I believe the K&N comes pre-oiled. If I remember correctly it should last approximately 40,000 miles (64K Kilometers) before re-oiling, that mileage can vary depending on driving conditions.

·
Registered
839 Posts