Jeep Renegade Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a Renegade Trailhawk with the intent to drive it every day, but also be able to take it off roading on some moderate trails. I'm completely new to off roading, but my father in law has had many Jeeps and is willing to show me the ropes. I don't plan on keeping up with his Wrangler completely (raised JK), but I would like to at least not embarrass myself. :)

After doing some research, I purchased the Daystar 1.5" lift kit, and I plan on having that installed soon.

My questions are:

What are the drawbacks, if any, for installing this kit on a car that will be 95% driving in the city/highway? Will it make the ride quality worse, could it wear any parts prematurely, cause reliability issues, etc?

I also plan on adding larger tires, probably 235/65R17, which I've seen on some Renegades with this kit installed. Will these do alright on the stock rims, or am I best off getting new rims as well? If so, what are my options? Any tire recommendations for a daily driver (in Michigan, harsh winters), but with good off road capability as well?

I believe I need at least 1" wheel spacers to avoid rubbing with the new tires, is that correct? Any recommendations there?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Your gas mileage will probably drop which imo is the only real drawback on a predominantly on road daily driver. Being a Michigan native I know what those winters are like so I would go with an all terrain such as BFGs as opposed to a muds. BFGs are good on and off road. Muds are not the greatest on snowy pavement in my experience. I'm not sure but you can probably use the stock rims but you are right in that you will definitely need spacers to clear the strut tower.

Goodluck with your mods and keep us posted!

·
Registered
85 Posts