Jeep Renegade Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well I see that there are many questions regarding off-roading and figured why not make a little guide of videos, links, etc. to help drivers. I have been off-roading for about ten years and by no means a pro. I started with a little Nissan Pathfinder then picked up a Rubicon which I still use as a DD but my trail rig is a little ATV (the places I have gone with that thing scares me sometimes). Please keep it civil as everyone has there own techniques, etc.

Here is the official Jeep Tread Lightly Video links they are dated but still relevant:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL05A03DB4E991C030

A little bit of reading material to read before hitting the trails:
http://www.offroadexperience.com/offroadguide1.htm

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
190 Posts
I have a tip that I learned this weekend.

I noticed that when offroading in my TH and it seem like I was stuck or not going anywhere, adding more power always helped. The thing with the brake loc differential is, when it applies brake to the spinning wheel, you need more power to overcome the brake and get the other wheels moving.

So remember! when you feel stuck, give it some more go juice. I was able to pull myself up and out of some pretty big ruts this weekend where one wheel was completely sunk and one wheel in the air. Check my 2015 TH adventure thread for videos.

If in doubt, throttle out!

·
Super Moderator
3,660 Posts
I have a 2015 latitude with the daystar 1.5" lift. Last weekend I bottomed out on a rock and blew a hole in my rear diff. Anyone ever seen anything like this?

On a renegade, you are the first. But yeah, that can happen. It's why they make differential protectors. There are a few rear diff guards for subies.

Beat on a casting hard, and it will crack.

·
Registered
607 Posts