Jeep Renegade Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
700 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What size of light bar is best suited for the Renegade?

Size as in length, wattage, rows of LEds etc.

What about ease of fitting in laymans terms? Colour of wire to connect into?

I am not an electrician and really need this kept simple.

To make life easy for myself after reading on an almost daily basis regarding the light dispersal that an LED lightbar offers I am not at the stage of buying one. I see that most of the lightbars come with 2 threaded, adjustable screws yet have no mounting brackets. It looks like its simply a case of drill into your bumper and attack using a washer and nut.

I ordered a number plate, overhead bar attachment in the hope of merely drilling 2 holes in the bar so as not to damage the bumper and mount an adjustable headlight bar to that directly.

Some of the "bars" come with a seperate harness but is it really that simple of passing it through a bulkhead grommet or do I need to cut the harness, pull it through the bulkhead and then find a suitable place to mount it eg the A post plastic at the dash board?

How can a massive plug fit through the bulkhead? It cannot so IMHO something needs cut and reatatched unless of course the ends of the wire are bare and merely need a couple of spade connections to be fitted inside the driver compartment to a suitable switch.

Next issue:

Some of the bars come with spot lights and combined fog lights. I want to be able to turn on the bar with full beam and seperately as and when I need them.

UK Law says if if full beam comes on then fog lights go off. I dont want that.

I am a Renegade :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

·
Registered
700 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
I have the light bar and number plate bracket.

Should be starting tomorrow weather permitting.

Many people have shown the way of how to wire the lightbar but very few have shown how to bumper mount it.